Thoughts on: Firefox4 Beta 1

They’ve taken the menu bar and replaced it with a button. If you’ve recently used the Opera browser then you’ll probably know what I’m taking about. Another thing I noticed immediately, aside from the Firefox button was the use of the Windows color schemes. The screenshots above are from a Windows Vista machine with the Aero UI  enabled and the window color set to Graphite at maximum intensity. The Active tab gets a white background while all the inactive tabs receive the color you set in Windows itself .

Firefox 4 Beta 1 (no menu bar)

You can get the menu bar back by using the following steps:

Click the Firefox button>customize>Menu Bar
To show the menu bar temporarily just hit the Alt key on your keyboard just like you would for Internet Explorer 7 and 8.


Firefox 4 Beta 1 with Menu bar enabled

One thing I don’t like too much is how the text in the menu bar looks. I don’t know maybe it’s just me. You actually have the option to set the browser tabs above (default) or below the address bar. It may not seem like a huge thing but I thought it was worth noting.

I haven’t really tried out my current add-ons so I can’t say too much about add-on compatibility and I don’t notice  much of a speed difference from 3.6.6.  This is the first beta release so things may change the closer we get to a final release. According to the Features page there will be Hardware acceleration and bookmark syncing, that will be interesting to see in action.

-Tony


Additional Info:
Firefox 4 Beta 1 Download page
Firefox 4 Beta 1 features page
Firefox 4 Beta 1 user input

One Comment on “Thoughts on: Firefox4 Beta 1”

  1. […] This will be a follow-up to my previous Firefox4 beta post. […]


Leave a Reply

