Update from my time at the Food Pantry (3-1-2012)

It’s been a while since I posted something about my experiences at the Willow Creek Care Center/Food Pantry. Things are still going well, helping families, seeing random food products. These past 2 Sundays, I’ve been helping out more in the bread room, keeping shelves stocked, locating more items, pushing bread carts and the like. I’ve been given more important responsibilities. I also get the honor of turning on all the lights in the public areas of the care Center, while my supervisors open doors,  and greet waiting guests.

A donation that was left outside the doors of the FP

The above donation was full of oatmeal, grapes, yogurt and apple slices.

A donation that I sorted through. Crackers and cookies.

The two boxes seen above above as full of crakers, Snack well cookies.

Lucky for us, it’s usually still quite chilly outside, so that helps to preserve the freshness of these donated goods, I don’t know how some of these items would hold up during the Spring and Summer seasons.

The “higher-ups” have made an effort to visit the Sunday team more often than before.

Some  of my team members have shown me a great deal of kindness and generosity on multiple occasions. I continue to learn a lot, but there’s still so much that I need to know about in the different sections to be more effective. Communicating with ESL (English as a Second Language)  volunteers is something I still need to improve

Leave a Reply

